Pollo Verde Recipe

This recipe is amazing, folks!  I was sort of at a loss for what to do with all these green chiles that I had, so I just started throwing stuff into my frying pan.  This is what I came up with.  My hubby says it is the best thing he has ever eaten. Hmmmm…..  I think he’s just trying to butter me up so that I’ll let him go on more hiking trips! 🙂

4 Green Anaheim Chiles (Finely Chopped)

2 T Minced Garlic

Canola Oil

Flour

Johnny’s Seasoning

Salt

2 Cups Water

1/2 Lime, Freshly Squeezed

5-6 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts, Cooked and Shredded

Cover the bottom of a frying pan or skillet with oil.  Sauté the garlic for a few minutes over a medium high heat, then whisk in some flour (maybe 3-4 tablespoons, I didn’t really measure).  Let that thicken up a bit, stirring constantly, then add the green chiles and water.  You can add more water if you like, I just roughly estimated on the two cups.  Stir in salt, and Johnny’s seasoning to taste. Did I mention that I have met Johnny on several occasions?  He is a director of the bank I used to work for.  Great guy! 🙂  Anyway, back on topic!  Squeeze in 1/2 a lime and cook until your sauce is the desired thickness.  Add your cooked, shredded chicken to the sauce and simmer for just a couple minutes more.  Serve as a burrito or over rice.  Top it with Mozzarella cheese.

I apologize for not having a picture of this recipe.  We gobbled it up before I got to snap a photo of it.  Trust me though, it’s good!

2 thoughts on “Pollo Verde Recipe

Leave a Reply

